Harper and Nolan’s Birth Story

I promised I would try and post more-the last week has been a blur!  The babies are still in the NICU, but doing great!  We are just working on feeding at this point-they have to be able to take all 8 feedings by bottle in order to come home-we are up to about 6-so hopefully they will be home within the week!

Last Thursday, the 30th, we went for our 34 week ultrasound to check on baby boy’s growth-things hadn’t changed-he was still not growing as he should-so it was decided that we would proceed with the induction the next day.  One thing had changed though-baby girl was now transverse and no longer head down-but my OB was ok with going ahead with the induction, instead of switching to a C section.  Baby girl would be the second baby out, so the hope was that she would flip back to head down, when her brother was out of the way.

Thursday evening we checked into Northside hospital, so that we would be settled, and able to start the induction first thing in the morning.

As soon as we were in our room I was hooked up to monitors to watch the babies’ heart beats.  I’m not totally sure why, maybe because we were monitoring two babies, or maybe because they were small and moved a lot, we kept losing the beat, so the nurses would have to come in and reposition the monitor to find them-it seemed like a nurse was in every 30 minute-it was so annoying and uncomfortable to have to try and lay still.  Finally around midnight they let me take off the monitors to sleep.

At about 4am the next morning the nurse came in to start IV antibiotics.  At 5am the Pitocin was started.  I was having contractions, but nothing super regular or very strong-it felt about the same as the contractions I had been having for weeks at home.

Around 11am the doctor came to check on me and decided that it was probably time to get things moving, so she broke my water.  Almost immediately the contractions intensified-a lot!  Within about 30 minutes I was getting my epidural.  I felt so much better after that-although being totally numb is a very odd feeling!

Around 12:30 the midwife and doctor came in to check my progress-and I was already fully dialated and they could see his head-it was time to push!  I was so nervous-I had no idea what I was supposed to do-but somehow your body just figures it out.  Within about 15 minutes of pushing Nolan Charles was born at 1:08 pm.  He was 3lb12oz and 17 inches and I couldn’t get over how tiny he looked.  They put him on my chest and I just kept saying, “he’s so tiny”, but we was doing great from the start!  He never needed any oxygen or breathing support.  I loved him the second I saw him.   I also couldn’t believe how fast everything had just happened!  Eric went with him to the nursery, while my OB tried to figure out what baby girl was doing.

Baby girl was still high and transverse, so she gave me a choice-I could now do a C-Section to get her out or wait and see if she dropped down, and even if she was breech we could try and deliver her.  I wanted to avoid surgery, so we opted to wait and see if she would move down on her own.

Now the waiting began-almost 4 hours to be exact.  Finally she had moved down enough, and my contractions were picking up again so it was time to push again.  My OB tried to turn her, but it wasn’t happening, so a breech birth it was.  This time I pushed a good bit longer and wasn’t making a ton of progress.  To try and help things my OB broke her water-and it exploded all over her-so in the middle of pushing I was also apologizing for drenching my doctor.

After her water was broken things got a little scary and her heart rate started dropping with each contraction-I pushed as hard and as long as I could and my OB basically grabbed her feet to pull her out.  At 5:27 pm Harper Grace was born.  She weighed 4 lb and 9 oz and 18 inches long.  She needed a little help with breathing and also went to the NICU.

Because I was recovering from labor and delivery, and feeling very shaky and weak, I didn’t see them again until the next day, which was very hard.  Leaving them at the hospital to go home on Sunday was the worst feeling ever.  I understand now why people say that once you have children your heart resides out of your body-and its a horrible feeling to be separated so early on.

We’ve made it through the first week, and although it hasn’t gotten easier leaving them each day-I’m just focusing on the time I get to spend with them and count off each day as one closer to them coming home.

 

 

harper sleeping with hand on her face

harpers first pic

mommy and daddy and nolan for the first time

mommy and harper

nolan after his first bath

nolan's first pic

3 Comments

  1. Beautiful!! You’re such a trooper! I can’t believe you had to sit there and wait for 4 hours. How long would they have waited if she didn’t move down? I’m wondering if our birthing stories will turn out similarly!

Leave a Reply

